Alphonse guides Cowboys to Cowichan rec lacrosse title

Chris Alphonse was named playoff MVP for the Cowichan Rec Lacrosse League after a stunning performance in the final as he led the Cowboys to a 7-3 victory over the Thunder last month.

Alphonse made countless saves on the offensively gifted Thunder, who topped the league standings at the end of the regular season. The Cowboys’ offence was led by Nick Prangley, who scored three times, while Peewee Klaassen had two goals and one assist, Birds Collett had one goal and one helper, and Mitch Antoniuk found the net once.

The Thunder got two goals from Ryan King and a goal and an assist from Pete VandenDungen.

The Cowboys had defeated the Warriors 7-5 in the league semifinal thanks to a big two-goal, two assist night from Luke Van Huizen. Terry Steele and Neil Gailey each added a goal and an assist, while Collett, Dave Prangley and Ben VandenDungen also scored. Nick Prangley scored twice for the Warriors, Pete VandenDungen had a goal and two helpers, and Gord Macdonald and Naomi Walser also scored.

Blair Pigeon was named league MVP after racking up 22 goals and 10 assists for 32 points in 15 regular-season games. Pigeon was the only player not from the Thunder among the top five in regular-season scoring.

Kevin Rothbauer was named Most Dedicated Player.

Pete VandenDungen led the scoring race with 27 goals and 19 assists for 46 points in 13 games. Rounding out the top five were his Thunder teammates Van Huizen with 24 goals and seven helpers in 15 games, King with 18 goals and nine assists in 15 games, and Ben VandenDungen with 18 goals and five assists in 12 games.