From top left: Justin Trudeau (Liberal), Jagmeet Singh (NDP), Erin O'Toole (Conservative). 
From bottom left: Yves-Francois Blanchet (Bloc Quebecois), Maxime Bernier (PPC), Annamie Paul (Green). (Canadian Press photos)

CANADA VOTES: Polls now closed in country’s 2021 snap federal election

Which party will be chosen to form the next government?

A new federal government is expected to be named Monday night, as votes are counted in Canada’s 2021 snap election. B.C.’s polls are now closed

The main parties vying for the 338 seats in the House of Commons are Justin Trudeau’s Liberals, Erin O’Toole’s Conservatives, Jagmeet Singh’s New Democrats, Annamie Paul’s Greens, Yves-François Blanchet’s Bloc Quebecois and Maxime Bernier’s People’s Party of Canada.

Polls were open in British Columbia from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Who is running in Cowichan-Malahat-Langford?

  • Alistair MacGregor, NDP
  • Alana DeLong, Conservative
  • Blair Herbert, Liberal
  • Lia Versaevel, Green
  • Mark Hecht, People’s Party of Canada

For Elections Canada’s FAQ page for questions like what kind of identification to bring, click here

Check out our website and Facebook page for full coverage of the results once polls close.

Canada Election 2021