BCHL announces playof format

The B.C. Hockey League confirmed the structure for the 2014 playoffs with an announcement on Wednesday afternoon.

As was the case last season, the top four teams in each division will qualify for the playoffs. The first round will be a best-ofseven series between the first and fourth seeds and the second and third seeds. The first round of the playoffs will begin on Tuesday, March 4. The winners of round one will meet in the division finals in the second round, another best-of-seven series.

At that point, each of the three divisions will have a champion, and the new playoff structure will come into play.

The third round will be a round-robin series with each of the three division champions hosting two games against the other clubs. One team will be eliminated, and the other two will then play a best-of-seven final for the Fred Page Cup.

In the event of a tie after the round-robin portion, a tie-breaker game will be played. Tie-breaker rules will be the same as those in the regular season.