Duncan’s Ramstead tops sprint race at Subaru Shawnigan Lake Triathlon

Duncan’s Jill Ramstead was the top female finisher, and third overall, in the sprint event at the Subaru Shawnigan Lake Triathlon on May 23.

Ramstead completed the course – a 0.8km swim, 22km bike and 5km run – in one hour, 16 minutes and 44 seconds. The only triathletes to cross the line ahead of her were the first male finisher, Vancouver’s Brandon Kirk, with a time of 1:14:57, and Balint Falvai of Victoria, just 24 seconds ahead of Ramstead.

Other Cowichan Valley residents to finish the sprint were Todd Thomson of Shawnigan Lake (1:25:12, second in the men’s 45-49 division), Laura Robson of Shawnigan Lake (1:29:34), Richard Anderson of Cobble Hill (1:34:18), Alison Keple of Duncan (1:35:58), Diana Sharpe of Cowichan Bay (1:40:11), Sonia Lowe of Shawnigan Lake (1:45:40), James Ramsey of Duncan (1:45:42), Wendy Hicks of Duncan (1:47:59), Doyle Childs of Mill Bay (1:50:51), John Gerty of Cowichan Bay (1:54:49), Andrew Purdey of Mill Bay (2:01:20), and Damir Wallener of Duncan (2:11:35).

The spring relay was won by Team X of Victoria in 1:22:33.

Local teams included Shawnigan Lake’s Better Late Than Never: Kirsi Lupton, Sarah Kingstone and Adrienne Hollings (1:29:56), and M1M2, also of Shawnigan Lake: Michelle Sprangers and Mike Hennessy (1:38:59).

The standard distance triathlon – 1.5km swim, 44km bike, 10 km run – was won by Shawn Wilyman of Victoria with a time of 2:05:42, and the top female was Malindi Elmore of Kelowna in 2:16:18.

Duncan’s Jason Sandquist was fifth overall at 2:13:35, and Paul Auton of Mill Bay finished 10th at 2:18:45. Other local finishers included David Huntley of Duncan (2:23:13), Alexander Daether of Chemainus (2:42:19), Rudy Massimo of Shawnigan Lake (2:43:45), Kim Simons of Duncan (2:45:13), Chad Strickland of Shawnigan Lake (2:50:08), Rob Grant of Duncan (2:56:28), Takeshi Yamada of Duncan (3:00:39), Todd Humen of Ladysmith (3:02:48), Shirley Van Dyke of Ladysmith (3:06:39), and Eric Service of Cobble Hill (3:37:17).

The standard relay was won by Victoria team Woods in 2:22:01. Local relay teams included BSB Lightning of Shawnigan Lake: Nancy Baxendale, Chris Brown and Gordon Smith (2:30:34).

Brennen Smith of Victoria and Annelise Lapointe of Vancouver won the Western Canadian High School Championships with times of 1:01:33 and 1:21:40, respectively.

Local finishers included Damian Parlee (1:25:04), Aidan Tammaro (1:28:26), Clare Addison (1:34:45), Tannis Potter (1:35:48), Sidney Lloyd (1:36:47), Nina Height (1:39:53), Luis Espinosa (1:41:56), Dechen Sherpa (2:00:30), and Jaclyn Childs (2:01:08).

The high school spring relay was won by Coast Busters of Coquitlam in 1:15:57.

Shawnigan Lake School had seven relay teams. Cameron Urquhart and Charlie Murphy paced their fellow students with a time of 1:31:53, followed by Rex Sae Lim and Leon Li (1:36:26), William Kim and Jamie Ash (1:36:45), Kyle McCallum and Takuto Hori (1:41:10), Jessica Fremlin and Anna Koehler (1:47:37), Ray Xi and Brett Lin (1:48:16), and Jack Halse, Penny Cheng and Peem Winyosopit (1:54:35).

Cobble Hill team Rats – Robert Power, Alex Rockson and Tobin Bergman – finished in 1:41:28. Another Cobble Hill trio, Shollanna – Holly Collis Handford, Raeanna Willsey and Shayla Grymaloski – finished in 1:44:48.