Shawnigan and Brentwood golden at national regatta

Shawnigan Lake School and Brentwood College School both came home with a gold medal from the Canadian Secondary School Rowing Association Championships in St. Catharines, Ont., earlier this month.

Shawnigan’s senior girls quad crew of Anna Koehler, Sierra Farr, Alex Lubbe, Annabel Irwin placed first, while Brentwood won gold on the junior men’s quad with the crew of Ellis Hollands, Liam Bontkes, Lion Tautz and Alex Ridenour.

"This is the first time ever that Brentwood has won the junior quad at the national rowing championships," said Debbie Sage, the school’s head of rowing. "All of these boys will be returning to our rowing program in the fall and bringing with them vast amounts of experience. The future looks bright for the boys and girls programs."

Brentwood sent 17 crews and 50 rowers to St. Catharines, with 12 crews and 49 rowers making the finals. The seven medals were a record number for the school.

In addition to the gold in the junior men’s quad, Brentwood took silver in the senior women’s eight (Hye Young Ra, Lucy Stanford, Carolyn Barakso, Lucy Digney, Mollie McPhee-Green, Tara Christensen, Kirsten McNeill, Joanna Lancashire and Featherdawn

Florkow), senior women’s lightweight eight (Young Ra, Stanford, Barakso, Sophia Auton, Emily Lawrence, Gwyneth Zollmann, Claire DeNure, Mariel Frank and Gillian Marvel), junior women’s eight (Paige Ledingham, Tasmin West, Brooke Martin, Renee LaFreniere, Teagan McNeill, Petra Jackson, Ellie Krasny, Stephanie Cheung and Jessica Novecosky) and junior women’s coxed four (Martin, LaFreniere, Jackson, Novecosky and Seo Young Ra).

Brentwood also won bronze medals in the senior women’s quad (Lancashire, McNeill, Florkow and Christensen), and senior men’s eight (Rielly Milne, Kelly Agnew, Louis Barry, Sam Storey, Anton Schultz, Niko Praun, Thomas Griffith, Hayden Frisch and Elliot Rogers).

Shawnigan had nine crews reach the finals. Along with the gold in the senior girls quad, the school won bronze medals in the senior girls coxed four (Farr, Lubbe, Maia du Toit, Nicola Simpson, and Danielle Schmidt) and junior boys lightweight coxed four (Edouard Receveaux, Jeremy Perrott, Felix Haffner, Sean Olson and Elise McKinnon).

Shawnigan’s senior boys coxed four was involved in what head of rowing Tim Coy called "the race of the regatta," finishing fourth, just 0.03 seconds out of second place and 0.02 out of third.

Just Posted

Robert's column
Robert Barron column: Skyrocketing house prices a tragedy

North Cowichan councillor Rosalie Sawrie brought an interesting perspective to a discussion… Continue reading

Soaker hoses laid down over corn seedlings, soon to be covered with mulch, will see to the watering needs of the bed through any summer drought. (Mary Lowther photo)
Mary Lowther column: Investing in soaker hoses is money well-spent

No-till gardening has a distinct advantage during drought

Karl McPherson, left, and Mary Morrice are the new head coach and general manager, respectively, at the Duncan Dynamics Gymnastics Club. (Kevin Rothbauer/Citizen)
Manager charts a new course for Duncan Dynamics

More recreational programs to join competitive teams

Cute but fierce! Timber moonlights as an attack kitty. (Sarah Simpson/Citizen)
Sarah Simpson Column: Beware of Mr. Bite, the midnight attacker

Last week, in the middle of the night, I was awoken by… Continue reading

At an outdoor drive-in convocation ceremony, Mount Royal University bestows an honorary Doctor of Laws on Blackfoot Elder and residential school survivor Clarence Wolfleg in Calgary on Tuesday, June 8, 2021. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jeff McIntosh
‘You didn’t get the best of me’: Residential school survivor gets honorary doctorate

Clarence Wolfleg receives honorary doctorate from Mount Royal University, the highest honour the school gives out

Two-year-old Ivy McLeod laughs while playing with Lucky the puppy outside their Chilliwack home on Thursday, June 10, 2021. (Jenna Hauck/ Chilliwack Progress)
VIDEO: B.C. family finds ‘perfect’ puppy with limb difference for 2-year-old Ivy

Ivy has special bond with Lucky the puppy who was also born with limb difference

Cannabis bought in British Columbia (Ashley Wadhwani/Black Press Media)
Is it time to start thinking about greener ways to package cannabis?

Packaging suppliers are still figuring eco-friendly and affordable packaging options that fit the mandates of Cannabis Regulations

A million-dollar ticket was sold to an individual in Vernon from the Lotto Max draw Friday, June 11, 2021. (Photo courtesy of BCLC)
Lottery ticket worth $1 million sold in Vernon

One lucky individual holds one of 20 tickets worth $1 million from Friday’s Lotto Max draw

“65 years, I’ve carried the stories in my mind and live it every day,” says Jack Kruger. (Athena Bonneau)
‘Maybe this time they will listen’: Survivor shares stories from B.C. residential school

Jack Kruger, living in Syilx territory, wasn’t surprised by news of 215 children’s remains found on the grounds of the former Kamloops Indian Residential School

A logging truck carries its load down the Elaho Valley near in Squamish, B.C. in this file photo. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Chuck Stoody
Squamish Nation calls for old-growth logging moratorium in its territory

The nation says 44% of old-growth forests in its 6,900-square kilometre territory are protected while the rest remain at risk

Flowers and cards are left at a makeshift memorial at a monument outside the former Kamloops Indian Residential School to honour the 215 children whose remains are believed to have been discovered buried near the city in Kamloops, B.C., on Monday, May 31, 2021. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Darryl Dyck
‘Pick a Sunday:’ Indigenous leaders ask Catholics to stay home, push for apology

Indigenous leaders are calling on Catholics to stand in solidarity with residential school survivors by not attending church services

“They will never be forgotten, every child matters,” says Sioux Valley Chief Jennifer Bone in a video statement June 1. (Screen grab)
104 ‘potential graves’ detected at site of former residential school in Manitoba

Sioux Valley Dakota Nation working to identify, repatriate students buried near former Brandon residential school

Most Read