Strong Valley contingent among hundreds to enter Shawnigan triathlon

Hundreds of athletes took to the waters of Shawnigan Lake and the roads and trails surrounding the lake for the Shawnigan Lake Triathlon.

Hundreds of athletes took to the waters of Shawnigan Lake and the roads and trails surrounding the lake last Sunday for the Subaru Shawnigan Lake Triathlon.

The triathlon encompassed individual and relay events at the standard (Olympic) and sprint distances, as well as the provincial high school sprint championships.

Adam O’Meara of Victoria finished the standard course (1.5km swim, 40km bike, 10km run) in two hours, three minutes and 29 seconds, first among 189 racers, beating out Shawn Wilyman, also of Victoria, and his time of 2:06:24. Jason Sandquist of Duncan was fourth overall and first in the M45-49 division with a time of 2:14:20.

The women’s winner was Lindsay Glassford of London, Ont. in 2:26:24, ahead of Lindsey Chamberlain of Victoria at 2:26:33.

Other finishers from the Cowichan Valley included Paul Auton (Mill Bay) at 2:17:38, Brodie Corrigan (Shawnigan Lake) at 2:23:21, Chris Cochrane (Duncan) at 2:35:04, David Huntley (Duncan) at 2:36:39, Lisa Helmer (Shawnigan Lake) at 2:41:21, Brad Sinclair (Mill Bay) at 2:42:59, Krista Hogan (Mill Bay) at 2:43:14, Rob Grant (Duncan) at 2:48:09, Todd Humen (Ladysmith) at 3:01:14, Robert Lamothe (Mill Bay) at 3:02:27, Lulu McCallum (Mill Bay) at 3:07:18, James Ramsey (Duncan) at 3:22:04, and Doyle Childs (Mill Bay) at 3:43:40.

The relay competition was won by Team Beaver Haggis from Nanaimo with a time of 2:37:18. Valley teams included the Unicorn Beaver Mice (Sarah Kingstone, Claire Linn and Emma Rae Hollings) from Shawnigan Lake at 3:03:50, and Westberg (Sarah Westgate and Julia Bergman) from Cobble Hill, at 3:10:33.

Stanley Lorenzo of Vancouver finished first among 88 athletes in the sprint distance (750m swim, 20km bike, 5km run) at 1:1 1:51, ahead of Brandon Kirk, also of Vancouver, at 1:14:26.

The women’s winner, placing sixth overall, was Tiffany O’Connor of Vancouver, with a time of 1:17:33, ahead of Jill Ramstead of Duncan, ninth overall and first in the F35-59 division at 1:19:06.

Other Valley finishers included Cam McDiarmid (Mill Bay) at 1:19:44, Todd Thompson (Shawnigan Lake) at 1:21:54, Robert Langelo (Duncan) at 1:25:05, Pauline Johnson (Cobble Hill) at 1:32:42, Alison Keple (Duncan) at 1:35:28, Haley Leech (Shawnigan Lake) at 1:38:27, PJ Shea (Shawnigan Lake) at 1:39:43, Brian McDaniel (Duncan) at 1:50:40, Elizabeth McDougall (Mill Bay) at 1:53:55, and John Gerty (Cowichan Bay) at 1:57:23.

Eleven teams finished the sprint relay, led by Team XS from Sooke and their time of 1:22:57. Other finishers included the Shawnigan Lake trio of Jared Riseborough, Mike Rea and Eric Venables at 1:30:47; Team Save Shawnigan Water (Sierra Acton and Michael Small) at 1:47:29; the team of Amanda Dalke, Anthea Morse and Stacey Collison of Shawnigan Lake at 1:47:29, and CMMP of Duncan (Rachelle Ferguson, Tiffany Waters and Jaimie Olson) at 1:51:39.

The high school sprint provincial championships had 22 finishers, led by Annelise Lapointe of  Vancouver in 1:16:38, ahead of Rhian Paterson of North Vancouver and her time of 1:19:50. The first male finisher was Ari Blondal of Vancouver at 1:22:26, ahead of Richmond’s Samuel Correa at 1:24:08.

Also finishing were Ethan Regan (Shawnigan Lake) at 1:26:17, Sergey Gladkiy (Mill Bay) at 1:28:12, Antonio Caraza (Mill Bay) at 1:28:30, Shayla Grymaloski (Cowichan Bay) at 1:39:12, Jaclyn Childs (Mill Bay) at 1:54:17, and Zaira Silva (Mill Bay) at 1:54:28.

Shawnigan Lake School had five of the 15 relay teams in the high school race, including winners Shawnigan Team 2 (Ava Bampton and Angus Brown) at 1:13:52. Other teams from the school included Shawnigan Team 3 (Sheldon Crisp, Frank Galindo, Robbie Yellano) at 1:24:36, Shawnigan Team 1 (Oliver Elliott, Cameron Urquhart, Tiaan Fourie) at 1:25:30, Shawnigan Team 4 (Georgia Hall, Barbara Hyde-Lay) at 1:35:55, and Shawnigan Team 5 (Hallie Bryant, Carlota de la Garza) at 1:42:31.

Also in the race was Cobble Hill team Alzato, consisting of Alex Rockson, Zack Pearson and Tobin Bergman, with a time of 1:22:00.