Wes Craig tops 24-team field at Duncan men’s bonspiel

Wes Craig upended Rodney Challborn to win the A event at the Duncan Curling Club 2017 Men’s Open Bonspiel last weekend.

Cowichan Valley curling legend Wes Craig upended fellow local competitor Rodney Challborn to win the Duncan Iron Works A event at the Duncan Curling Club 2017 Men’s Open Bonspiel last weekend.

The Craig rink, which included third Gerald Poleman, second Tony Anslow and lead Victor Gamble, beat Challborn’s foursome, which included third Martin Shewchuk, second Vince Bremmer and lead Bill Grant.

Third place in the A event went to the rink of Bart Sawyer, Mike Waller, Craig Burton and Keith Clarke, with Murray Blom, Ron Glass, Chris Blom and Ian Blom in fourth.

Twenty-four teams, up two from 2016, participated in the four-event bonspiel that ran from last Thursday to Sunday.

The Creative Woodcraft B event went to the Esquimalt foursome of Doug Muir, Doug Leask, Will Lamb and Jim Williams over the Comox Valley rink of Tracy Branch, Don Barnowsky, Doug Seeley and Neil Havers. Kevin Lamont and his teammates, Jim Bangle, Jordon Zaharia and Steve Neil took third ahead of Brent Dellebuur, John Elzinga, Cam Foster and Campbell Woike.

The Bob Gallaugher rink with James Turner, Bud Harbidge and Brian Copeland topped the Larry Mattin rink with Lou Oud, Dean Hallet and Steve Rumold to win the Leon Signs C event. Third place went to Will Duggan, Chris Baier, Dwayne Perry and Ryan Ludvigson, while fourth place went to Keith Ainsley, Randy McLeod, Rob Hinton and Sheldon Spier.

Steve Whynott’s rink with Craig Matthews, Tony Steel and Doug Riehl won the Ingram Pharmacy D event over Al Swanson, Nolan Reid, Simon Fry and Steve Conway. Third place went to Steve Wiles, Jim Wellwood, Troy Cowan and Rick Callander, with Dean Thulin, Mike Finlayson, Colin Mentik and Blair Cusack in fourth.